+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    NYYF Legend

Why can't major league contracts be voided if........

a player is found using PED's? I haven't read or heard anyone address this issue but would like to know why this can't be written into a contract. This would prevent clubs from giving obsurd contracts to players after they were suspended for using PED's....Melky Cabrera comes to mind. Can someone out there explain this to me because I'm not a lawyer.

Re: Why can't major league contracts be voided if........

The penalties for PED use are part of the CBA as is the basic individual player contract. Nothing can be added to the player's contract that would override what has been collectively bargained. Kind of like how in the government individual states law cannot override federal law.

NYYF Cy Young

I think theoretically it can be written in, but it hasn't been done, and probably never will. Players union probably would never let it fly.

From the MLB Joint Drug Program, Section 8(L):
    All authority to discipline Players for violations of the Program shall repose with the Commissionerís Office. No Club may take any disciplinary or adverse action against a Player (including but not limited to a fine, suspension, or any adverse action pursuant to a Uniform Playerís Contract) because of a Playerís violation of the Program.
    A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds, adored by little statesmen and philosophers and divines.
    - Barry Manilow

Quote Originally Posted by Texsahara View Post
    The penalties for PED use are part of the CBA as is the basic individual player contract. Nothing can be added to the player's contract that would override what has been collectively bargained. Kind of like how in the government individual states law cannot override federal law.
    Then how comes states like california can allow pot sales which violates federal law ?

Quote Originally Posted by Doug View Post