+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    NYYF Triple Crown

Allstate, State Farm or Geico for Car Insurance?

I'm getting ready to transfer my car insurance from Florida to NY and I'm trying to decide which insurance company to use. I currently have Allstate (Florida) but the NY premium is more than double what I paid in Florida. State Farm's premium seems to be about the same when I asked for a quote online.

Geico's monthly premium is almost half the price but since I've never used them before (just Allstate and State Farm), I'm feeling a bit cautious. Has anyone had any bad experiences with Geico or would you recommend them? I'm wondering why their premiums are so much cheaper, even for my leased car that requires a higher level of insurance, so I thought I'd ask around.

I have an excellent driving record (no accidents, traffic violations, etc.) and my car is fairly new (2010 Nissan Altima), but the Allstate premium is still pretty high (it went up a lot since I last had NY insurance six years ago).

Does anyone have any opinions on Geico and whether I should stay away from them and stick with Allstate? Thanks.

NYYF Legend

Re: Allstate, State Farm or Geico for Car Insurance?

I have had State Farm for about 25 years and have had good service.

My husband uses Geico and has had very good service as well. He is very happy with it. It is very reasonable and claims get taken care of very quickly.
    She sits there so refined and drinks herself half blind
    - Ralph Waldo Emerson -

WHO THE F CHANGED MY CUT? johnnyyankee's Avatar

I have State Farm. They give discounts for multiple lines of coverage, ie; auto, home owners, umbrella etc. I've found their service to be very good. Before I owned a home I used Geico. But, as I said, once I had a need for other insurances when I considered State Farm premiums as a basket of the three, it made more sense for me to dump Geico and move to SF.
    I'm just a simple guy, I live from day to day.