PDA

View Full Version : Bill James

Jersey Yankee
03-16-05, 05:59 PM
I'm a SABR newbie, so please forgive me. What is Bill James' influence on sabermetrics? Is he a pioneer? Founder? Someone who put a good idea on the map?

Thanks. :)

JJBNYC
03-16-05, 08:43 PM
I'm a SABR newbie, so please forgive me. What is Bill James' influence on sabermetrics? Is he a pioneer? Founder? Someone who put a good idea on the map?

Thanks. :)

He's a Red Sox employee and, thus, the enemy.

Jersey Yankee
03-16-05, 08:52 PM
Since this is the SABR forum, rather than ATM, I was asking about his career as both a bookwriter and his efforts and influence upon sabermetrics. I'm already familiar that he's in the Red Sox' front office.

Thanks.

JJBNYC
03-16-05, 08:58 PM
Since this is the SABR forum, rather than ATM, I was asking about his career as both a bookwriter and his efforts and influence upon sabermetrics. I'm already familiar that he's in the Red Sox' front office.

Thanks.

In a nutshell, he wrote about and popularized some sabermetric theories. Here's an article:

http://slate.msn.com/id/2084193/

Euclis
03-17-05, 02:22 AM
And if you want a very interesting baseball book, get this one:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0743227220/qid=1111044028/sr=2-2/ref=pd_bbs_b_2_2/002-8811691-8816816

Great book for <20$

RhodyYanksFan
03-17-05, 10:20 AM
If you want a good book that explains the history of statistics and their importance to baseball, check out The Numbers Game: Baseball's Lifelong Fascination with Statistics (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0312322224/qid=1111072757/sr=8-1/ref=pd_csp_1/102-6546066-4353755?v=glance&s=books&n=507846). It's a very interesting read.

Jersey Yankee
03-17-05, 12:06 PM
Thanks for the great replies, folks. I'll check out the links. :)

YankeePride1967
03-17-05, 01:03 PM

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0743227220/qid=1111044028/sr=2-2/ref=pd_bbs_b_2_2/002-8811691-8816816

Great book for <20$

It is, I have it at home.