PDA

View Full Version : Bobby Abreu Hopes To Re-Sign With Yanks

YanksFan1992
08-07-08, 05:10 PM
http://www.mlbtraderumors.com/2008/08/abreu-hopes-to.html

According to Jesse Sanchez of MLB.com, right fielder Bobby Abreu hopes to play for the Yankees a few more years.

A quote from Abreu: I'm a free agent at the end of the year, so you understand how that is. Here is where I want to be, but we still have this season to play. There's still a long time before we talk about that.

Abreu, 34, is hitting .291/.364/.476 in 483 plate appearances this year. He did about the same in '07. Last November the Yankees exercised Abreu's $16MM option for '08. It's probably not going to make sense to pay Abreu much more than $12MM in '09.

webassign
08-07-08, 05:12 PM
thanks for everything bobby, but we want the draft picks

yankeebot
08-07-08, 05:13 PM
It's re-sign.

Mark19
08-07-08, 05:16 PM
If he'd do 2 years/$16 million I'd bite

YanksFan1992
08-07-08, 05:17 PM
It's re-sign.
Sorry. :o

YanksFan1992
08-07-08, 05:18 PM
Could a mod please change it to re-sign instead of resign.

Thanks in advance.

JeffWeaverFan
08-07-08, 05:18 PM
If he was willing to do that, he'd just accept arbitration and make 1/$16M.

Given Abreu's age I think it would be best to let him walk and take the picks.

AcidLake
08-07-08, 05:19 PM
So next year, we'd have:

Damon, Nady, Abreu, Matsui (as DH)

for OF.

That's not too shabby if they can live up to their names

YanksFan1992
08-07-08, 05:23 PM
So next year, we'd have:

Damon, Nady, Abreu, Matsui (as DH)

for OF.

That's not too shabby if they can live up to their names
Would you keep Posada at catcher then?

YankeePride1967
08-07-08, 05:26 PM
In the slight chance we can find a taker for Matsui, I'd re-sign him.

AcidLake
08-07-08, 05:27 PM
No, trade him for Puojls!11!!!11!

Yankee Tripper
08-07-08, 05:45 PM